The Northern Neck Planning District Commission (NNPDC) was created in 1969 pursuant to the Regional Cooperation Act adopted by the Virginia General Assembly. The Commission is a confederation of the four Northern Neck counties (Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond, and Westmoreland), established to plan for the orderly and efficient physical, social, and economic development of the Northern Neck Region.


Activities and policies of the Commission, which are set by sixteen Commissioners appointed by the local governing bodies, include a wide range of comprehensive planning, technical assistance, grant seeking, and regional coordination activities.

The NNPDC was designated an Economic Development District by the U.S. Department of Commerce-Economic Development Administration (EDA) in February 1999.  This designation represents a federal/local partnership between the NNPDC and the U.S. Department of Commerce-EDA and assists with establishing regional priorities for projects and investments. This is done through the development of a strategic planning document identified as the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). The Economic Development Administration Reform Act of 1998 identifies a CEDS as a requirement to apply for assistance under the EDA’s public works and economic adjustment programs.

Since the original Public Works and Economic Development Act was enacted in 1965, economic development planning has been a key element in achieving EDA’s long-range goals. The NNPDC adopted the original Overall Economic Development Plan for the Northern Neck of Virginia in June 1998, and now maintains the Northern Neck Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy that was adopted in July 2000 and annually updated and revised.


Comments are closed.